Step parenting and the great divide.

So I’ve had the unfortunate opportunity to have the “I don’t want you as a step-dad”, talk with my step daughter and just when I thought it couldn’t get any worse the “reason” is revealed.

When your step child informs you that all these years of refusing to be near you, sit next to you, hug you or even say “I love you”, is because they are utterly disgusted with your appearance, and ashamed to be seen with you. Is a very disheartening thing to listen to.

Now to enlighten you all as to what i look like, I’m a heavily tattooed individual and have a lot of high visibility tattoos that are not hidable. I’m a very broad shouldered stocky fello who has a thick body but isn’t overtly “flabby”, I’m football player material. Not cut, but beefy if you will. Her father is a tall, slender man with one tattoo and her mother is slender and has but a few tattoos of her own, All hidable.

But my appearance apparently has caused my step child so much shame and distress that they don’t want people to know me as their step-dad and refuses to be seen in public with me. My appearance is so disgusting to them that they actually want to live with their dad and remove me from their life all together.  Even to the extreme that any visitation she makes to this house is done, outside and without my presents. She wants to have relationships with my biological children but wants me out of it, solely based on “my looks”.

Its devastating and is causing a great divide in our home. Its disheartening and depressing. We as step pa


Leave a comment